top of page
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
  • Writer's pictureAnthony Nadeau

Ghostbusters: Afterlife Movie Review Available Now 4K/Blu Ray/DVD/Digital Sony Pictures(Taro PR)


It's been a while, at least since 2016 since the title of Ghostbusters has been mentioned. I know the last installment was not a favorite of the fans, but this one definitely stands its ground on its own story instead of being a remake which is the first good thing the film does.

I was not a particular fan of the original movies, but I will admit that I did watch the first one again to get reacquainted with the story as I had heard there was a family connection in some capacity to bring them a bit more like a third film in the series.

This one takes its time to introduce the characters to the audience, which has always been a good thing for me as we do that when we write stories, etc. A new group of characters takes a while to get familiar with. When we get past the painful introduction of the lead young kids in the family, consisting of a single mother, painful as they are having to relocate to the old house that her father has left them. The kids are, of course, reluctant to the move and their behavior is quite annoying(at least to me).

When we get past that, about a half-hour in, the film switches its gears and becomes a little more serious of a ghost movie, which is good because it could not continue down that road.

They find out that their grandfather was one of the original Ghostbusters and this film really becomes a tribute to those earlier films, there are even some really great surprises in the film for the fans of the original series. I was pleasantly surprised at how much the film kind of grew on me as the film progressed.

Rest In Peace Ivan Reitman

As I am sure everyone knows at this point has heard about the passing of Mr. Reitman.

I know only of his contributions to the world of cinema and his love of bringing joy to millions of people around the world.

He has passed that onto his son, who directed this film and co-wrote it as well.

I first heard of Ivan Reitman when I saw Animal House-he was a producer on it.

Then his two first feature films Meatballs and Stripes that I have in my own personal collection and have viewed many times over the years. Then years later I went to see Twins when I knew that he was directing it.

He was a kind man from the tributes I have seen for him over the past few days.

In the picture below is Ivan Reitman(left) with some of the cast members and his son Jason(to the far right), who directed the film








6 views0 comments
Home: Contact
bottom of page