top of page
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
  • Writer's pictureAnthony Nadeau

The Burning Sea--Disaster On The High Sea-- In Theaters & Digital Today! Feb 25-Magnolia Pictures


I have seen many disaster films over the past number of decades, Earthquake, The Poseidon Adventure, Independence Day, actually, this could be an entire write-up on disaster movies because there have been so many in recent memory even.

So I had not seen any of the previous films that preceded this particular film, upon being asked if I wanted to see this for a review, I took it upon myself to watch the previous films and did quite enjoy them more than I thought possible. The Wave(2015) & The Quake(2018) have the same actors playing the family and that is what captured my interest initially. Then upon watching both of the films, I was pleasantly surprised at the more research aspect that was put into both of the films in that they have based it on the possibility of these both happening in Norway, the Wave has footage from the tragic aftermath of a tsunami that shook the small town of More of Romsdal when an 80-foot wave crashed into it. We have a geologist in both of the films and I am sure you can figure out what The Quake is about.

Onto the new feature from the producers of both previous films.

Kristine Kujath Thorp and Rolf Kristian Larsen in THE BURNING SEA, a Magnet release. Photo courtesy of Magnet Releasing.


This new film brings us a new group of people and with it and the title, comes a new problem.

There have been some shifting patterns in the sea and with it begins an evacuation prior to an explosion of one of the oil platforms, where there are a good number of people.

As the same sort of storytelling as the previous films, I don't think fans will be disappointed with this current release, I sure wasn't.

A scene from THE BURNING SEA, a Magnet release. Photo courtesy of Magnet Releasing.


The explosion and the aftermath are quite well shot and edited and really kick into high gear the rest of the movie. I felt the tension on the actor's faces and sometimes tense glances, instead of words were exchanged. These films are really a thinking person's disaster movies, where a lot of others are just based on everyone running from the disaster, we really get to know the characters prior to anything happening, very slow burn, and sometimes that is a problem for some. But this is done so well, also for those looking for those particular scenes, they are here as well, don't worry.

A scene from THE BURNING SEA, a Magnet release. Photo courtesy of Magnet Releasing.


The special effects really help tell the story and keep it moving along as well, I hope Magnet releases the three films in a box set as I would like to add it to my collection when it becomes available. They certainly had a bigger budget for this film than the previous films, not a slam on the filmmakers it's just something I noticed.

Kristine Kujath Thorp and Rolf Kristian Larsen in THE BURNING SEA, a Magnet release. Photo courtesy of Magnet Releasing.


Again, it all comes down to the acting/directing, etc to make certain scenes work, when they are just staring at something that is not there.

I don't know if you have seen the previous films or have an interest in this one, but if you like disaster movies I would recommend that you see and enjoy this one!




4 views0 comments
Home: Contact
bottom of page